Cover Commissions

05_adjustments-and-detailingpaint_MelodyDaggerhart
“Rina” WIP Image Source: Melody Daggerhart 2016

I do my own cover illustrations for my books. Sometimes I do art commissions as part of my freelance business. Right now I’m working on a cover painting for Andy Brokaw’s newest book Of Snow and Whiskers, which will be out later this year. So, I thought I’d share a peek as a WIP.

Before studying English in college, I originally wanted to do cover art and spent one year as an art major. So, not only is doing book covers fun for my artistic side, it’s a bit of a “dream job” … next to publishing novels, of course. Creating and working with books will always be my first love.

I was also fortunate to be asked to beta read Of Snow and Whiskers, and I can truthfully say I’m excited about this publication. It’s a follow up to the novel Of Fur and Ice, a YA story about a school for shape-shifters in Alaska. This time the main character is Rina, a girl who changes into a snow leopard. I can’t say much more at this point, but I will also be reviewing the book when it comes out. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ll just say that I love how certain elements from popular fantasy, paranormal, and myth ย were pulled together for this story. ๐Ÿ™‚

As for my own story, I have started the fourth draft of Dragonling, and am checking its consistency against ALL FOUR other books in the series! (*insert groan here*) Just kidding. ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s a lot of work to make sure facts match over the entire course of the series, but it’s kinda fun to go back and re-read my earlier books and see how many elements I can connect back and forth across the span of the story. I primarily create stories I want to read, so I’m enjoying the work in spite of the fact that nitpicky editing can be rather mind-numbing work sometimes. Every time I offer a new book, I go back and check the old ones for the sake of consistency,ย minor “clean-up” edits that I notice post-publication, and add information about the newest book in the back matter links and such. Digital books update easily and freely, so always feel free to update your previous versions when I announce new versions are available.

When the fourth draft is finished, Dragonling will head to beta readers. And then I can begin work on that cover. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

